Chakras are energy centers all over your body and also in your energy field. There are 7 main Chakras that many systems of healing reference:
7th: Sahasrara: The Crown Chakra
6th: Ajna: The Brow Chakra
5th: Vishuddha: The Throat Chakra
4th: Anahata: The Heart Chakra
3rd: Manipura: The Solar Plexus Chakra
2nd: Svadhisthana: The Sacral Chakra
1st: Muladhara: The Root Chakra
In Acupuncture, the Acupuncturist places the needles on meridians, or energy lines, running through your body. Those meridians are all connected to the Chakras, or energy centers. Our Chakras open and close as needed. However, problems arise when they have stagnations or blockages that prevent them from functioning properly.
The Chakras correspond to various organs in your body as well as to various emotional, physical and spiritual aspects of your life.
For example, think of your home’s electrical wiring. The wiring exists all over the house but each wire connects to breakers in the electrical box. Each breaker manages the wires in different areas of your home. If one of the breakers has “flipped” then that whole area of your home to which it corresponds will be without electricity. Using this example, your body is your home, the meridians are your wiring and the chakras are the breakers.